Camping Gear Reviews


We will be seeking out product reviews over the coming months and adding them below. Here are just a few to begin with.

Tent Reviews
Sleeping Bag Reviews
Leki Trekking Poles - ReviewLeki Trekking Poles - Review
Reviewed by www.backpacker.com and The Desert Dog Journal

Leki Carbonlite Trekking Poles and Leki Trail Trekking Poles reviewed

Read Leki Trekking Poles Reviews
Gelert Horizon 6 Tent ReviewsGelert Horizon 6 Tent Reviews
Reviewed by ukcampsite.co.uk readers

This is a selection of Gelert Horizon 6 tent reviews - Average Rating: 9.17 out of 10

Read Gelert Horizon 6 Tent Reviews
MSR Stove ReviewsMSR Stove Reviews
Reviewed by Outdoorreview.com readers

The Pocket Rocket, the Superfly, the Whisperlite are MSR stove favourites, read user reviews...

Read MSR Stove Reviews
Golite Jam 2 Reader ReviewsGolite Jam 2 Reader Reviews
Review by US Backpackinglight.com Readers

Thought I'd copy out some reader reviews about the Golite Jam 2 from BackpackingLight.com.

Read Golite Jam 2 Reader Reviews
Thermarest NeoAir Lightweight Sleeping PadThermarest NeoAir Lightweight Sleeping Pad
Review by US Backpackinglight.com

Recommended - similar features and comfort to other sized pads at significantly less weight. Small packed size, good for low-volume lightweight backpacking

Read Thermarest NeoAir Review
Montane Terra ShortsMontane Terra Shorts
Review by Country Walking- 2008

Light, versatile shorts that offer superb performance at a very good price. Voted 1st place in Country Walking Magazine

Read Montane Terra Shorts Review
Coleman Rigel X2 ReviewColeman Rigel X2 Review
Review by Trail - 2008

For the money, I think it's a bargain, much more comfortable than a bivi, much lighter than a lot of other two man tents and robust enough to give you a fair amount of protection in bad conditions.

Read Coleman Rigel X2 Review
Golite Adrenaline Sleeping BagGolite Adrenaline Sleeping Bag
Review by BackpackGearTest.org - May 2008

Will Rietveld, 50 years a backpacker, gives a very detailed report on the Golte Adrenaline 20 Sleeping Bag

Read Golite Adrenaline Sleeping Bag Review
Terra Nova Laser 20L RucksackTerra Nova Laser 20L Rucksack
Review in TGO Magaziine - March 2009

Terra Nova Laser 20L was awarded the "lightest in test" award and their TGO recommendation for minimalist travel.

Read Terra Nova Laser 20L PackReview
Helly Hansen Volt JacketHelly Hansen Volt Jacket
Review in Adventure Travel Magaziine - March 2009

The Volt is a serious mountain jacket that’ll see you sorted whatever the conditions.

Read Helly Hansen Volt Jacket Review
Montane Terra Pants - Tear TestMontane Terra Pants - Tear Test
Country Walking have done a tear test on the Montane Terra Pants

They obviously passed!!

Read Terra Pants - Tear Test Review
Montane Female LitespeedMontane Female Litespeed
TGO Best Buy June 2008

Rating: 5 stars out of 5

Read Female Litespeed Review
Gossamer Gear 'The One' ReviewGossamer Gear 'The One' Review
www.backpackinglight.com's review of Gossamer Gear's new solo tent

Overall Rating: Recommended

Read Gossamer Gear 'The One' Review

Montane Terra Lite PantsMontane Terra Lite Pants
TGO Recommended July 2008

Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5

Read Men's Terra Lite Pants Review
Pacer Poles ReviewsPacer Poles Reviews
All the great things said about Pacer Poles

Trail Magazine Verdict : First Place - February 2007
TGO Magazine: Best Buy - April 2006

Read Pacer Pole Reviews
Antigravity Gear Pot CozyAntigravity Gear Pot Cozy
Backpacker.com - 2003

'Save heat, save fuel, save time, save money. Yeah, this pot insulator can do it all.'

Read Antigravity Gear Pot Cozy Review
Montane eVENT Quick-Fire Jacket ReviewMontane eVENT Quick-Fire Jacket Review
Country Walking Magaizine - April 2008

The Quick-Fire Jacket fought off all rivals and came out as the winner in Country Walking's review of lightweight waterproof jackets.

Read Montane Quick-Fire Jacket Review
Montane VentureMontane Venture
Quote from TGOs Chris Townsend May 2006 about the Montane Venture
'Voted TGO Best Buy
Montane's latest eVENT jacket is excellent for year round hill walking, being tough enough for winter and light enough for summer. I like the hood, which moves with the head and gives good protection. The pockets are roomy enough for maps, are at the right angle to be used for handwarmers and are accessible when wearing a pack hipbelt... The Venture is reasonably long with a very long drop tail that easily covers my backside.... The price is excellent for a full spec eVENT jacket'
Montane LitespeedMontane Litespeed
Quote from TGOs Chris Townsend July 2006 about the Montane Litespeed
'Voted TGO Best Buy
Over the last two years I've worn this top extensively, including on the TGO Callenge and treks in Makula and Everest Base Camp in Nepal. I've been impressed with how well the light fabric has worn - there isn't a mark on it despite many day's use with a heavy pack'
Montane Terra PantsMontane Terra Pants
Cameron McNeish Editor of TGO Magazine April 05 about Montane Terra Pants

'Pant Perfection - These are the best trekking pants I've ever used..... after six months of regular hillwalking, scrambling and trekking I'm now loathe to wear any other legwear when I go to the hills.'
Craghopper Kiwi TrousersCraghopper Kiwi Trousers
Michael Palin - Writer and Traveller

'I always pack 4 pairs of Craghoppers Trousers, which have the right pockets. it's very important that your diary fits into your trouser pocket'
Integral Designs Sil TarpIntegral Designs Sil Tarp
Andy Kirkpatrick from PsychoVertical.com writes the following about the Integral Designs SilTarp

'The best model on the market is the Canadian Integral Designs Siltarp1, which is used by climbers such as Mark Twight, Barry Blanchard and Steve House. It weights in at 200 grams, is 8x5 foot, and features 16 lightweight webbing tie loops sewn on the corners and edges, plus a reinforced central loop. This is the lightest option, but some people may want a larger tarp, in which case the Siltarp2 at 8x10 feet (400g) may be better.'


Gossamer Gear Mariposa RucksackGossamer Gear Mariposa Rucksack
Two reviewers of the Mariposa from BackpackGearTest:

Carol Crocker
'I like this pack! It is roomy enough for short, lightweight snow camping trips, is the right size for multi-day lightweight three-season backpacking trips, and it collapses nicely to work well as a day pack. It is comfortable, has good load stability, and fits me right. It weighs barely over a pound (0.5 kg) yet has stays to keep it from collapsing under a load and plenty of pockets.

I wore the Mariposa several times in a light rain without a pack cover. Moisture did not make it into the pack.'

Andy Rad
'After six months of use, I'm satisfied with the pack's durability. There were several times when it hung up on brush, but came through without damage...

...testing this pack over the last six months has established it as my primary three season pack, and it has plenty of competition from years worth of gear collection.'

Visa Credit and Debit payments supported by WorldpayVisa Electron payments supported by WorldpayMastercard payments supported by WorldpayMaestro payments supported by WorldpayJCB payments supported by WorldpayWorldpay Payments Processing
Payment Methods Browse through our choosing gear guides, ourproducts, reviews and fabric information , or click a tag below.